Daily Tarot Card Readings As a Learning Practice – My Perspective

IMG_7947 2


 

One of the learning practices that is often recommended for new tarot readers is the daily draw. It was not my preferred method of learning the Tarot, I must say.

Here was how one of my first experiences with a daily draw went: “Oh the seven of swords… hmm… well I wasn’t really focusing while I was shuffling the cards. Maybe I should reshuffle them… yea. That’s what I’ll do. Ok **shuffling** I’m focused now spirit…. **pulls card** – seven of swords – wait…” 😂😂😂

I have to be totally honest… I am not a big fan of the daily pulls and here’s why: First of all, there are not enough cards if you only pull one, to ask about your whole day. One card could hold many meanings, and if you apply that across an entire day, how would that inform you? In a way, it’s kind of setting up a landmine, in my opinion. Say you draw a “bad card” such as the seven of swords. You may wonder if someone would deceive you or steal something from you that day. At the end of the day, you may reflect and feel that you did not experience this and either chalk it up to you being more diligent to protect yourself or your belongings because you drew the card in the morning and recieved that “warning.” All the while, you have overlooked that you in fact, did embody the seven of swords that day because you decided to cut your losses and do the project on your own – lone wolf style. Sometimes, If you receive a “bad card” you can flip the message however you want, but subconsciously, you might be looking for something bad to happen, which could end up manifesting it anyway.

It is better to be specific when consulting the Tarot – and yes I mean choosing a spread with preset meanings. For example, Situation – Action – Advice  or   Mind – Body – Spirit. Also, you could take it slower and learn just one card per day by asking a specific question every day. For example; “What strength should I most emphasize today?” “Which Major Arcana do I need to sit with today?” (drawing only from major arcana), or “Which characteristics should I reflect on today?” (drawing only from court cards).

Think of the Tarot as a scope/lens that allows you to see into a situation. Sometimes when you zone too far out you miss stuff (this is not good for day to day draws) and if you’re too close, you might miss the bigger picture (this is not good for long-term/planning type of readings).

Again, this is all my opinion, but I think the way you ask a question has the most impact on your reading result. For beginners, being specific with your question will help you really learn and understand the card meanings. Feel free to practice however is most fitting to you, but if you’re finding your daily pulls to be stressful, not teaching you much, stagnant, or mundane… then revise the way you do it. Make it fit you, make it help you.

Don’t stay in anyone’s box – I am just letting you peek into my box of random thoughts. Take what you want. If not, just leave it behind.

 


 

8 Comments Add yours

  1. My favourite is the Rider/Waite Deck

    Like

    1. Great deck!!! Perfect for learning especially as I’m sure you know

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Indeed, the RW is ideal for learning, which also makes it good for adopting a beginners mind. On that note would you be interested in taking a fresh look at the first card in the deck, namely the fool, and let me know what is happening in the card? Forget everything you ever learned about the Tarot and begin anew. What is happening in the picture?

        Like

      2. That was the first thing I ever did with my deck before I ever looked up a single meaning!!!

        Like

      3. Awesome! So what is happening in the card now?

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Oh a lot of things now. That I’ve had time with each card. But I depends on the deck and surrounding cards too

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Allow me to try this another way… What in particular do you think is going on in the fool card of the RW deck? Remember to assess the card with fresh eyes; i.e. without any of the associations you have acquired to date. To help with your objective observation and to adopt a ‘beginner’s mind’, pretend that you are seeing the picture on a large screen in a cineplex theatre. There are no subtitles indicating that its a Tarot card or neither is there text to suggest that the subject is a fool. All you get to see is the actual picture itself projected onto the screen. Even the artist’s signature is removed from the image. What is happening in the picture? In other words what is going on in this scene?

        Liked by 1 person

  2. That was the first thing I ever did with my deck before I ever looked up a single meaning!!!

    Like

Leave a comment