Creativity

In order to channel and enhance my intuition, connection with the Source, and alleviate my symptoms of anxiety, I create. Whether it is creative expression through writing, poetry, mixed media, painting, jewelry making, knitting, coloring, dancing, or singing. The point is not what you do or choose to do, but how it makes you feel. For me, the act of creating makes me feel centered and whole. I know it is because this activity requires me to remain “in the moment.” Activities such as these, create mindful head spaces which serve as a conduit for increased self-regulation and awareness.

Artistic expression is considered to be a mindful practice so psychologically, it makes sense to assume it would facilitate a centered/grounded feeling. But there is much more to creation than just the mindful act of being in the moment with your medium (i.e. paint, paper, pen, computer, yarn, beads, instrument, sound, etc.). Creation seems to evoke a “space” within one’s conscious. In this “space” the conscious and the subconscious join hands and take you on a journey. It feels almost… transcendental. But the key is… you have to find your craft. Not every craft works for every person. The key is to find what flows. 

Lately, for me, it has been painting. I am not very good at it but there is something about the way the paint feels on the paper/canvas, it feels great. I can not draw worth a damn and I know that hinders my painting capabilities greatly. But this is not about technique… this is about flow. Painting flows for me. I’m too critical of my grammar and make far too many errors that need revision for typing to “flow” for me. Sometimes writing by hand is tiring if my thoughts are firing rapidly. Knitting gets too boring and I feel “stuck” on one project for an eternity. Jewelry making is cool, but after making it a business, it lost its “hobby” appeal for me, unfortunately. That being said, I’d love to design jewelry more than make it myself (However, I would need to draw). Mixed media art is a new fun thing for me as well, and this art form really allows for artistic expression without needing steady hand techniques (which is required in drawing, painting, jewelry making, playing an instrument, sculpting, etc.). 

Anyway, the point of this post is that the act of creating has been unlocking bits of my intuition. Prior to this, I had been using playing cards to create new/mixed media cards based on the cartomancy meanings. I had also been exploring YouTube videos about how to create artist trading cards (ATCs).

Mixing the thoughts of intuition and ATCs, I thought to make my friends some mini Oracle cards. I created these small cards, channeling thoughts and messages about some of my friends. So I guess in that way, they are like mini Oracle cards. On the backside of each card, they are covered in matching cardstock and contain a personal message to each recipient. I hope they enjoy the little cards I made for them. I sure enjoyed making them ๐Ÿ™‚

Obviously, these were the first two cards I have ever created, so I am hoping to improve as I go along. I hope this post has inspired you to create in your own unique way. Feel free to share your work and experiences with me. How did it feel to create? Did it bring you closer to your subconscious, higher self, or intuition? 

Sometimes you have to try several crafts to find the one that flows for you. I will try to post about crafting on a budget in later posts. I suggest keeping it simple and cheap in the exploration stages of any craft. Don’t invest in things you don’t love. It is easy to begin. Pick up a pen, put it to paper, and see where it leads. Have fun creating, lovies!

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Marilyn says:

    This is amazing darling, truly! So proud of you! ๐Ÿ™๐Ÿผโœจ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ’•

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much!!!!

      Like

  2. My goodness Elle, we have so much in common.
    Love & light,
    JY

    “Creation seems to evoke a โ€œspaceโ€ within oneโ€™s conscious. In this โ€œspaceโ€ the conscious and the subconscious join hands and take you on a journey. It feels almostโ€ฆ transcendental. But the key isโ€ฆ you have to find your craft. Not every craft works for every person. The key is to find what flows.” – sparkedintuition

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awesome! This is exactly what I want. To find like minded people ๐Ÿ˜Š

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment